Some of the Many Places to Visit Around St. Peter's

National Glass Centre

Address

National Glass Centre,
Liberty Way,
Sunderland,
SR6 0GL

The National Glass Centre is a 20 minute walk from Sunderland City Centre. Cross the Wearmouth Bridge and at St. Peter's Metro station, turn right and follow the riverside path or walk along Dame Dorothy Street for 10 minutes.

St Peter’s is the closest Metro station.

There are 80 free car parking spaces plus disabled bays. We recommend you approach Sunderland from the A19, joining A1231 (Sunderland) and follow the brown directional signs to National Glass Centre.


Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Address

Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens,
Burdon Road,
Sunderland,
SR1 1PP

Sunderland Museum & Winter Gardens is situated in Sunderland city centre on Burdon Road, a short walk from both Sunderland Metro and train station and Park Lane Interchange.


St Andrew’s Church Roker and All Saints Church, Fulwell Road, Sunderland

The sister churches of Monkwearmouth Parish - St. Andrew’s, Roker, a unique Arts and Crafts building and the third church in the Parish, All Saints, Fulwell Road, the UK birthplace of modern Pentecostalism – in all three churches of major historical and cultural interest.


Monkwearmouth Station Museum

Address

North Bridge Street,
Sunderland,
SR5 1AP

Tel: 0191 567 7075

Website Monkwearmouth station museum


St Paul’s Church

Address

Church Bank,
Jarrow,
Tyne and Wear,
NE32 3DZ

Jarrow Hall (formerly Bede’s World)

Address

Church Bank,
Jarrow,
Tyne & Wear,
NE32 3DY

Jarrow Hall website www.jarrowhall.org.uk

 

PARTNERS

National Glass Centre www.nationalglasscentre.com
Bedes World www.bedesworld.co.uk
Tyne & Wear Museums www.twmuseums.org.uk
University of Sunderland www.sunderland.ac.uk
Parish of Jarrow www.jarrowparish.info
Parish of Monkwearmouth www.parishofmonkwearmouth.co.uk
Diocese of Durham www.durham.anglican.org

OTHER ASSOCIATED ORGANISATIONS

English Heritage www.english-heritage.org.uk
Durham Cathedral www.durhamcathedral.co.uk
Durham University www.dur.ac.uk
Newcastle University www.ncl.ac.uk
Sunderland City Council www.sunderland.gov.uk
South Tyneside District Council www.southtyneside.info
Whats On North East www.whatsonnortheast.com
One Space – North East www.onespace.org.uk/NorthEast
North East Festivals www.northeastfestivals.co.uk
Hadrian’s Wall, incl. Arbeia & Segedunum www.hadrians-wall.org/ www.twmuseums.org.uk